Home > Learning to talk > 3.10: Chance 3

3.10: Chance 3

I think I need to talk louder, more than anything else. Often when I say something, people don’t quite hear, I have to repeat it, and often only bother to say the most important part. Sometimes people miss what I am saying altogether, such that it was hardly worth bothering, or mishear and think I said something else. So, that is what I need to work on, chances I get to say something, say it louder.
As for today’s chance, I did talk a little more, added comments that were not answers to direct questions, that sort of thing, though of course not very loud, such that I think a couple may have gone totally unnoticed, and I didn’t make some of the comments I had wanted to. Though, as it turns out, I may have extra chances coming up, I worry that turning up to these events, meeting people and then sitting saying nothing is making thigns a little awkward for others, perhaps they aren’t sure why I bother to go, or something, I don’t know, but I think I will continue to turn up every chance I get, and talk a little more each time, I am getting into this, slowly, but truth is, my going and saying things unasked this morning was a huge step forwards, now I just have to continue that and build on it, and also remember that I have taken what is for me a large step, my limited progress so far may mean I forget that and feel disappointed still.

  1. November 28, 2011 at 3:13 am

    I used to be like this when I was younger. The more you talk to people, the more you learn from your mistakes. I’m not a big fan of “having to repeat myself,” so my agitation with that is what made me speak up more. I thought I would share this with you. 🙂

  2. November 28, 2011 at 10:08 am

    Thank you, yes, I am trying to speak up, but that is where we are different, it has always been that my dislike of repeating myself is part of what makes me want to avoid talking any more than necessary.
    It’s just so annoying that I can know exactly what to say, know I can do it, but when I get there… nothing. I’ve gotten to this odd point where I am better at talking to strangers than to people I know, because then they stop and listen rather than chatting to someone else and assuming I will not be joining in.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

