Home > Other stuff > 3.9 memories

3.9 memories

I have decided that this morning, I am going to share with the world, or at least the half dozen or so people that will ever read this, possibly one of the most important lessons I should have learnt at school. I say should have, at the time I clearly wasn’t paying attention, but it all came back to me rather early this morning (after a slightly earlier night last night, having put lots of things off until rather late, I decided just this once I was not going to stay up late trying to get it all finished) and now suddenly I can see what I was missing before.
Simple enough, if you want to do something, just relax and let it happen.
They showed us this little trick, I don’t know how many people have seen this before, but they handed out these small metal washers, each tied to the end of a bit of string, we were set to holding the other end of the string in the air, keeping out hand perfectly still, and then told to concentrate all our energy on the washer and making it move from side to side, and of course, moments later, it starts moving, all by itself. Magic, right?
Not at all, even better, really. Frankly, moving a tiny piece of metal a fraction of an inch with your mind is pretty much useless, but this… What happens is that whilst the conscious part of your mind is simply thinking ‘move’, on a subconscious level you are working out how. Your hand, then, starts making these tiny imperceptable movements, causing this thing to swing back and forth, side to side, round and round (not up and down, it turns out), exactly as you want. It doesn’t need to be told, it doesn’t ask permission, or even let you know what it is doing. Effectively your hand knows how to do this, and makes its own decision, carrying out your instructions, whilst consciously I know I wouldn’t have the slightest clue how to even start trying.
It all goes to prove that the human mind and body are pretty impressive tools, that know exactly what they have to do, and how, and work at their best when you leave them to it. Thinking back, I now have a long list, just of those occasions I can still remember, of times when I relaxed and let things happen and they turned out much better than those times I thought I had to force every detail to be just right, to put in effort and attention into every little thing.
So there we go, whatever you are trying to do, you know how to do it, not yourself, but some part of you, on some level can do it perfectly, or pretty close to, so just relax and let it take control, see where you end up.

  1. October 28, 2011 at 10:15 am

    Indeed, the human mind is amazing. We just dont know how to use it fully.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

