Home > First days > 1.1 (March 4th)

1.1 (March 4th)

Happy New Year.

Yes, it is new year. Now, I thought, it’s about time I tried out one of these blog things, so here goes: Alright, this time last year I was quite determined it was going to be the year that I finally made something of my life, I was going to work through all my plans and schemes, I was going to get decent grades, I was going to write some books and get them published, and so on…

And now, I can look back and see that I failed at pretty much all of those. I am having to redo my entire second year of university because I did so badly last year, and I can’t even remember what all of those plans were now. However, another new year, another chance at a new start, and this time it is already going well. In the last few weeks, I managed to finish the final edited version of my first book, (again, after losing the original final copy somewhere), and have sent it out to a few publishers, though with no replies yet. As well, and partly responsible for this, I managed to set out an organised timetable of work to do, arranged so I can see a simple list of tasks to complete each month. I have also gotten myself into the habit of getting at least two hours of university work done every day, at that rate, I should easily finish it all in time, if I can keep it up. And just today, I finally managed to finish some work that I had been finding particularly difficult, that had been taking rather longer than expected. And early enough that now I have time to go down to the library this evening and begin research on what I call my ‘history project’, a series of books on world history that I have been working on the last few months.

So, it looks like a rather better start to the year than it did thirteen months ago, let’s see how it turns out though, still a lot of chances for everything to go wrong…

Meanwhile, I still need to work out what to put on here. I already have enough abandoned diaries that are little more than descriptions of how much work I have (or haven’t) done. I need to find ways to make this more interesting, though I think I have some ideas already. We shall see tomorrow how well that goes.

  1. March 2, 2011 at 11:20 am

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

